Our best

Our best

Laureates of the Yachtsman of the Year Award have been named.

Share on social media

On December 2, 2010 the Forum Hall of Celebrations hosted the National Sailing Award ".Yachtsman of the Year 2010".

The ceremony was attended by the full management of the All-Russian Sailing Federation, presidents of class associations and representatives of the regional federations - members of the All-Russian Sailing Federation, the whole prize gathered over 700 guests.

The winners were awarded: Dmitry Zelenin, Governor of the Tver Region and Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the All-Union SFSF, Hero of the USSR and Hero of Russia, legendary polar explorer, State Duma deputy Artur Chilingarov, Chairman of the Federation Council Committee on Industrial Policy, Captain of the Synergy team, member of the Supervisory Board of the All-Union SFSF Valentin Zavadnikov, publisher of Yacht Russia magazine and other distinguished guests.


Igor Zaretsky, winner of the single transatlantic race Jester Challenge 2010, was named Yachtsman of the Year. Yachtsman of the Year was congratulated by the PR-director of «Volkswagen Light Cars brand» Andrey Gordasevich and CEO of «Moscow time» Polina Titkova, who presented the winner with Swiss EDOX watches.

The Yachtsman of the Year is again Catherine Skudina. Last year Catherine already received this honorary title. This year she and her crew won the 2010 European Champion title, won the prestigious Kiel Regatta and Stena Sweden Match Cup (grade 1 ISAF). Her school children Irina Lotsmanova (Ekaterinburg) and Elena Suzeva (Krasnodar) helped Ekaterina. Chiffre Gallery and the «Empire» Company presented the winner with an exclusive jewelry made at the «Demeter»factory.

Legend of sailing - Valentin Mankin, famous Soviet yachtsman, three-time Olympic champion, multiple winner of world and European championships, Honored Master of Sports of the USSR, Honored Coach of the USSR, repeated champion of the USSR from 1959 to 1981 in different classes of yachts. The only yachtsman in the world who won Olympic gold medals in three different classes: Finn, Tempest and Zvezdny. Valentin has received an invitation from the sponsor of the nomination - VELUX company - to attend the closing ceremony of the VELUX 5 OCEANS 2010/11 round-the-world yachtsmen race, which will be held next year in France.

For his contribution to the development of sailing Artem Kuznetsov - Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the All-Union Sailing Federation, champion of Russia in the «Dragon»class, Artem Kuznetsov systematically supports children, youth and Olympic sailing in Russia. Sponsor of the M2M nomination Privet Bank presented the winner with an exclusive Antares VISA Infinite card.

The sailing team of the year was RUS - 27 "Annapurna" - the crew of the Dragon» class «yacht headed by the helmsman Anatoly Loginov and schoolboats Andrey Kirilyuk and Alexander Shalagin won all the competitions of the first grada in 2010, including the Golden Cup, as well as with other Russian dragonists of the Nations Cup. For the second year in a row, they have been leading the world ranking in the Dragon class. A partner in the nomination anywayanyday.com presented the crew with promotional cards for booking tickets and hotels on-line.

In the category «Best Coverage of Sailing Competitions the «Golden Feather» was won by Lina Holina, the «Sport-Express» newspaper - more than a year professionally covers all regattas of classes Transpak 52 and Louis Vuitton Trophy. No other domestic author is so deeply immersed in the sailing theme with the same amount of published material on the subject. Special gift for the winner - Russian guide «Poliglot».

Leonid Dubeykovsky was awarded with the «Golden Lens» for the« best lighting of sailing competitions. Leonid Dubeykovsky is one of the leading marina photographers in Russia. His works are full of energy and strength. He has been shooting sailing for several decades now. The prize partner «White» Hall Company prepared a special gift for the winner from Kauffmann.

The best organizer of the competition was Mikhail Otdelnov and the organizing committee of the Black Sea Cup by Men's Health - the most massive starts in windsurfing and kiteboarding, 278 athletes from 39 cities participated. There were 22 sets of medals raffled off. The Russian Championship in RS:X class (men and women) was held as part of the competition. Together with Mikhail Alexey Pinchuk, Kirill Vonogov, Andrey Medin and Tatiana Aksenova rose to the stage. D-MARIN Didim Marina General Manager Murat Yaprak presented the winners with a certificate for free yacht berthing.

The best long-distance sports campaign - the crew of the yacht «Peter-1" (Captain Daniel Gavrilov, St. Petersburg) - for the first time in the world history the yacht could pass the North-East and North-West sea passes in one short arctic summer. The crew consists of 100% young people under 25 years of age, including the captain and a senior officer. Besides, the guys were able to overtake the Norwegian trimaran on this route, which made the domestic sailing sport famous all over the world. The partner of the nomination, OYSTER shipyard in England congratulated the winners.

Andrey Latinov (Anapa) became the judge of the year - this year and in previous years he worked professionally at many regattas both as the chairman of the protest committee (with judging on the water) and as the chief judge in different disciplines and classes from windsurfing to offshore racing ORC. MUSTTO company, an official partner of the WFTU, presented the winner with a certificate for professional yachting equipment.

The coach of the year is Dmitry Murashev (Novosibirsk), who prepared the participant of the first Youth Olympic Games 2010 in Singapore. Artem Murashev took 5th place after the competition. Gaastra company, the official supplier of clothes and footwear for the WFSF, awarded Dmitry with a certificate of professional yachting clothing in the Gaastra chain of stores.

The best children's sailing school was recognized by GOU DOD SYUSHOR of water sports of Krasnodar region - in 2010 the institution prepared World Champion, winner of the World Championship in windsurfing Andrey Zagainov, students won 3rd place in the European championship in team racing and 1st place in the Russian Open Championship in class 420. In terms of victories and achievements of students, the school is one of the strongest in our country. Special prize from the company POLITERMO - the official manufacturer of WFPS - Shuttleboat «Optimist».

All the winners were presented with the main symbol of the «Yachtsman of the Year award» - crystal sailing boat. The slogan of the award: A PARUS AS LIFE!

The organizers of the National Yachtsman of the Year Award are the All-Russian Sailing Federation (VFSF) and Yacht Russia magazine.

Vasily Senatorov, publisher of Yacht Russia magazine: «motto of the Award - sail as a way of life. All the winners who went on stage today share this motto. The winners deserve public recognition throughout the country. I would like to thank the general partner of the Yachtsman of the Year Award - Volkswagen for supporting this important event for the national sailing sport».

Oskar Konyukhov, WFSF Executive Director: The «aim of the award is to identify leaders in ten categories among professionals and to draw attention to sailing among a wide audience. Judging by the audience that attended the award, we can say that we are able to meet these challenges. The award was the logical conclusion of the WFTU»event calendar.

Share on social media
Found an error in the text?

Please select the word or sentence
and press ctrl+enter,
or click here.

Please report the error to us.