BuilderCornish Crabbers

Great Britain

Model range of Cornish Crabbers

The brand Cornish Crabbers produces classic Sailing Yachts and sailing Yachts with Lifting Keel. There are 13 models from 3 to 12 meters.

About Cornish Crabbers

History of the company

This story took place at Rock on the north coast of Cornwall County. In the early 1970s, local architect Roger Dongray designed a 22-foot gaffer tender and wanted to build it out of wood. A friend of Dongray's, with whom they raced Lasers «together in the Kemel estuary», Peter Keeling was the owner of a small local Westerly Boats shipyard. Keeling caught fire with the idea of building a yacht for a friend, but decided that it would be 2 feet longer. The first 4 yachts were made of plywood, the fifth was made of fibreglass. The Cornish Crabber - the name of this model - was first shown to the public at a boat show in London in 1975 and received press approval. The work of Westerly Boats has since taken on a new dimension. Within a year after the show, around 40 boats of this model were sold. To ensure that Westerly Boats would no longer be confused with another shipyard with a similar name to Westerly Marine, the company name was changed to Cornish Crabber.

In 1978, Dongray built another boat for himself - a 19-foot gaffer sloop.

Dongrey's new brainchild did not at first arouse any interest in the Cornish Crabber walls. However, after her test drive, Keeling immediately decided to implement this project as well.

This is how Shrimper 19 was born, which later became the most popular model produced at the shipyard. Since then the company has built more than 3,000 boats, including more than 1,100 Shrimper 19 and more than 350 Crabber 24.

After a number of owner changes since 2013, 75% of the company is owned by Peter Thomas, who also acts as director of the shipyard.

Production .

The shipyard, like 40 years ago, is located in Rock Village, North Cornwall.

Shipyard status

It's working.

Model range

Cornish Crabber produces motor and sailing yachts of classic design in lengths from 10 to 35 feet. Sailing yachts have fiberglass hull, hafer and bermuda arms, wooden or aluminum rankout. The yard's range also includes dinghies and trailer motor boats of classic design.

Features

Cornish Crabber yachts are an example of a reproduction of a traditional British yacht in a delicate and stylistic manner. They are not replicas, but modern interpretations with quality technical execution. Practically all models, except for the largest, can be transported by trailers. The Cornish Crabber's speed and seaworthiness are at default heights.

To Buy the Cornish Crabbers Yacht or Powerboat
If you are interested in Cornish Crabbers yacht and powerboat, contact your broker or fill out the form below
Ошибка!
By clicking "Send Inquiry" you confirm that you have read and agree with our Privacy Policy and give consent to process personal data

Write to us if
you want to add to the description.

Found an error? Select the desired fragment
and press ctrl+enter,
or click here.

Please let us know about the error.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is not a public offer, and itBoat is not responsible for its completeness and accuracy. The data is collected from open sources, and there may be distortions, errors, typos, and inaccuracies.

ВерфьCornish Crabbers

Великобритания

Модельный ряд Cornish Crabbers

Верфь Cornish Crabbers строит дейсейлеры (daysailers) и классические яхты. В модельном ряду компании - 13 моделей длиной от 3 до 12 м.

О верфи Cornish Crabbers

История компании

Эта история случилась в местечке Рок на северном побережье графства Корнуолл. В начале 1970-х годов местный архитектор Роджер Донгрей (Roger Dongray) разработал для себя проект 22-футового гафельного тендера, он хотел построить его из дерева. Друг Донгрея, с которым они вместе гонялись на «Лазерах» в эстуарии реки Кемел, — Питер Килинг (Peter Keeling) — был владельцем небольшой местной верфи Westerly Boats. Килинг загорелся идеей построить яхту для друга, но решил, что она будет на 2 фута длиннее. Первые 4 яхты были построены из фанеры, пятая уже из стеклопластика. Cornish Crabber — так называлась эта модель — была впервые показана публике на бот-шоу в Лондоне в 1975 году и получила одобрение прессы. После этого работа Westerly Boats приняла новые масштабы. За год после выставки было продано около 40 лодок этой модели. Чтобы Westerly Boats больше не путали с другой верфью с похожим названием Westerly Marine, имя компании заменили на Cornish Crabber.

В 1978 году, Донгрей построил для себя еще одну лодку — 19-футовый гафельный шлюп.

Новое детище Донгрея поначалу не вызвало интереса в стенах Cornish Crabber. Однако после ее тест-драйва Килинг немедленно принял решение о воплощении и этого проекта.

Так появилась Shrimper 19, которая впоследствии стала самой популярной моделью, выпускаемой на верфи. С тех пор компания построила более 3 тыс. лодок, среди них более 1100 Shrimper 19 и более 350 Crabber 24.

После ряда смен собственников с 2013 года 75% компании принадлежит Питеру Томасу, который выполняет также роль директора верфи.

Производство

Верфь, как и 40 лет назад, расположена в поселке Рок, в северном Корнуолле.

Статус верфи

Работает.

Модельный ряд

Верфь Cornish Crabber выпускает моторные и парусные яхты классического дизайна длиной от 10 до 35 футов. Парусные яхты имеют стеклопластиковый корпус, гафельное и бермудское вооружение, деревянный или алюминиевый рангоут. Также в линейке верфи есть динги и трейлерные моторные лодки классического дизайна. 

Особенности

Яхты Cornish Crabber являют собой пример репродукции традиционной британской яхты, выполненной в деликатной и стилистически выдержанной манере. Это — не реплики, а современные интерпретации с качественным техническим исполнением. Практически все модели, за исключением самых крупных, могут перевозиться на трейлерах. Скоростные и мореходные характеристики лодок Cornish Crabber на высоте по умолчанию.

Купить яхту или катер Cornish Crabbers
Если Вас интересуют яхты и катера Cornish Crabbers, обратитесь к Вашему яхтенному брокеру или отправьте запрос нашим специалистам через форму ниже:
Ошибка!
Отправляя запрос, Вы соглашаетесь на предоставление персональных данных в соответствии с политикой конфиденциальности.

Напишите нам, если
хотите дополнить описание.

Нашли ошибку? Выделите нужный фрагмент
и нажмите ctrl+enter,
либо нажмите здесь.

Сообщите нам об ошибке.

Оговорка: Информация на данной странице не является публичной офертой, itBoat не несет ответственность за её полноту и достоверность. Данные собраны из открытых источников, в них возможны искажения, ошибки, опечатки и неточности.