BuilderAmel

France

8 rue Joseph Cugnot

Model range of Amel

The brand Amel produces sailing Yachts with Central or Protected Cockpit and yachts with Deck Saloon. There are 2 models from 16 to 19 meters.

About Amel

There is no other shipyard in the sailing world where all employees and customers are so genuinely committed to the ideas of its creator. The life of Chantiers Amel is the embodiment of the dream and faith of Henri Amel himself, or Captain Amel, as he was majored in life.

History

Henri Amel was born in 1913. His love for boats manifested itself already at school age when he was watching sailboats in Bordeaux. Before the Second World War, Henri studied boat design and tried building wooden yachts himself. During the war he took part in the French resistance (the name Amel, Henri's real name was Tonet, appeared there), was in captivity, almost completely lost his sight and suffered a serious injury to his leg. But adversity did not confuse the young dreamer. Noticing that the Allied forces used waterproof fabrics impregnated with polyester resins, Henri quickly realized that replacing the sack with fiberglass would give a strong material suitable for boat construction.

In 1958, Henri uses an abandoned shipyard in Marseille to build the first fiberglass Mistral 23. This and other projects were successful, but the business did not go well: the employees involved did not share Amel's fanatical passion for quality; other attempts were made in Spain, and finally in La Rochelle, where another shipyard was building boats to Amel's designs. But quality, again, did not satisfy the designer, and in 1963 he began building himself. His new company was completely burned down in 1967. At that time Amel took off moldings from his already built yachts and restarted the company in 1969.

The long-awaited success came in 1973. For his 60th birthday, Henri Kapitan threw a two-day party and promised that he would hand over the shares to the shipyard's employees if they worked well. This legendary event took place in 1975 when Amel returned from a yacht distillation for a client across the Pacific. While on the road, he dictated by telephone to designer Jacques Carto details of the project for a new model that became the famous 48-foot Maram.

Obviously, the «captain»'s prefix to his name, Henri, received it deservedly. A passionate yachtsman, he was well aware of his clients' needs at sea. That is why a distinctive feature of all future Amel yachts is the full set of boats before delivery. The client simply had to buy provisions, raise the sails (which he could do on his own - Henri built everything according to his own limited possibilities) and set sail.

Henri «Captain» Amel was gone in 2005, he left at 92 years of age. Back in the 1990s, he handed over the shipyard management to a personally selected management team of his colleagues. And these people tried not to change the way the Captain works. For example, Amel did not build more than 32 yachts per year; it was almost impossible to achieve changes in the configuration of the boat to your liking - the Captain knew better what yacht should be at sea; the number of employees never exceeded 130, and all were shareholders of the company.

Features

Henri Amel believed that a voyage on the oceans should be a pleasure. That is why his boats have always been exceptionally comfortable even to sail alone or as a couple. It was Amel yachts that were the first to receive the bow thruster, electric winches and other aids to make life at sea easier. Almost all Amel yachts were equipped with kech, a more practical option for ocean cruising. Another characteristic is the central location of the cockpit, even when arming the sloops, and the presence of cockpit protection with a rigid windscreen.

According to the owners, the entire finish of the Amel yacht was extremely pleasant to the touch, as the visually impaired Captain touched everything with his hands and demanded the highest standards of materials handling. In addition, all over the boat there were holders and handrails, so the captain himself was moving around the boat without being able to see what he was grabbing.

One more interesting fact. The Amel shipyard did not develop distribution. On the contrary, each yacht is delivered by the crew of the shipyard to any port at the customer's request, or the customer himself can do it.

«We don't need any extra hype," said Michel Bonnetou, the shipyard's replacement, "our clients are our advertising.

Model range

All models designed by Henri Amel have become legends in the world of ocean travel. For example, the 53-foot Super Maramu alone has built almost 500 hulls. Now Henri models are out of production, but the successors retain the characteristics of their predecessors.
There are only three models in the modern Chantiers Amel range. Traditionally, these are the Kecchi Amel 55 and Amel 64 and the first boat in 20 years, the Amel 50, which immediately won the title of Yacht of the Year in Europe in 2018.

Produced by .

Chantiers Amel is based in Perigny, near La Rochelle. The shipyard has offices in Hera and Martinique as well.

Purchase a yacht Amel
If you are interested in Amel yachts, please contact your yacht broker or fill out the form below to send a request to our experts:
Ошибка!
By clicking "Send Inquiry" you confirm that you have read and agree with our Privacy Policy and give consent to process personal data

Write to us if
you want to add to the description.

Found an error? Please select the word or sentence
and press ctrl+enter,
or click here.

Please report the error to us.

Disclaimer: The content of this website does not constitute a public offer, and itBoat shall not be held liable for incorrect or incomplete information contained herein. The information provided herein is collected from open sources and may contain distortions, errors, typos, and inaccuracies.

Amel
Верфи

Amel

Франция
8 rue Joseph Cugnot

В парусном мире не найдется другой такой верфи, все сотрудники и клиенты которой были бы так искренне привержены идеям ее создателя. Жизнь Chantiers Amel это воплощение мечты и веры самого Анри Амеля, или Капитана Амеля, как при жизни все его величали.

История

Анри Амель родился в 1913 году. Его любовь к лодкам проявилась уже в школьном возрасте, когда он наблюдал за парусниками в Бордо. Перед Второй мировой войной Анри изучал проектирование судов и пробовал самостоятельно строить деревянные яхты. Во время войны участвовал во французском сопротивлении (там и появилось имя Амель, настоящая фамилия Анри — Тоне), был в плену, практически полностью потерял зрение и получил серьезную травму ноги. Но невзгоды не смутили молодого мечтателя. Заметив, что союзные войска использовали водонепроницаемые ткани, пропитанные полиэфирными смолами, Анри быстро смекнул, что замена мешковины стекловолокном даст прочный материал, пригодный для строительства лодок.

В 1958 году Анри использует заброшенную верфь в Марселе для постройки первой стеклопластиковой яхты Мистраль 23. Этот и другие проекты имели успех, но бизнес не пошел: привлеченные сотрудники не разделяли фанатичное пристрастие Амеля к качеству. Другие попытки были предприняты в Испании, и наконец, в Ля Рошели, где другая верфь строила лодки по проектам Амеля. Но качество, опять же, не удовлетворяло дизайнера, и в 1963 он начал строить сам. Его новое предприятие полностью сгорело в 1967 году. Тогда Амель заново снял молды со своих уже построенных яхт и перезапустил предприятие в 1969.

Долгожданный успех пришел в 1973. К своему 60-летию Анри Капитан закатил двухдневную вечеринку и пообещал, что он передаст акции верфи сотрудникам, если они будут хорошо работать. Это событие, ставшее легендой, случилось в 1975 году, когда Амель вернулся с перегона яхты для клиента через Тихий океан. Будучи в пути он по телефону диктовал дизайнеру Жаку Карто детали проекта новой модели, которая стала знаменитой 48-футовой Мараму.

Очевидно, что приставку «Капитан» к своему имени Анри получил заслуженно. Будучи страстным яхтсменом, он прекрасно понимал, какие потребности возникают у его клиентов в море. Поэтому, отличительной чертой всех будущих яхт Amel стала полная комплектация лодки перед сдачей. Клиенту оставалось просто закупить провизии, поднять паруса (что можно было сделать самостоятельно — Анри все строил с учетом собственных ограниченных возможностей) и отправится в путь.

Анри «Капитана» Амеля не стало в 2005, он ушел на 92 году жизни. Еще в 1990-х он передал управление верфью лично отобранному менеджменту из числа своих коллег. И эти люди старались не изменять принципам работы Капитана. К примеру, Amel не строила больше 32 яхт в год; практически невозможно было добиться изменений в конфигурации лодки на свой вкус — Капитан лучше знал, какой яхта должна быть в море; количество сотрудников никогда не превышало 130 человек, и все были держателями акций компании.

Особенности

Анри Амель считал, что путешествие по океанам должно доставлять только удовольствие. Поэтому его лодки всегда были исключительно удобными даже для плавания в одиночку или парой. Именно яхты Amel первыми среди серийных получили носовое подруливающее устройство, электрические лебедки и другие приспособления, облегчающие жизнь в море. Почти все модели яхт Amel имели вооружение кеч — более практичное для океанских плаваний. Другой характерной чертой является центральное расположение кокпита даже при вооружении шлюп, и наличие защиты кокпита жестким ветровым стеклом.

По отзывам владельцев, вся отделка яхт Amel была исключительно приятна на ощупь, ведь плохо видящий Капитан все трогал руками, и требовал высочайших стандартов в обработке материалов. Кроме этого, везде по лодке встречались держаки и перила — так Капитан сам передвигался по судну, не имея возможности видеть, за что схватится.

Еще один интересный факт. Верфь Amel не развивала дистрибуцию. Напротив, каждая яхта доставляется экипажем верфи в любой порт по желанию заказчика, либо сам заказчик может сделать это. 

«Нам не нужна лишняя шумиха, — говаривал заменивший Капитана президент верфи Мишель Боннету, — наши клиенты и есть наша реклама».

Модельный ряд

Все модели, спроектированные Анри Амелем, стали легендами в мире океанских путешествий. Например, только 53-футовых Super Maramu было построено почти 500 корпусов. Сейчас модели Анри сняты с производства, но преемники хранят характерные черты предшественниц.
В современной линейке Chantiers Amel предлагается всего три модели. Традиционно, это кечи Amel 55 и Amel 64 и первый за 20 лет шлюп Amel 50, который сразу же получил титул Яхты года в Европе в 2018 году.

Производство

Chantiers Amel базируется в Периньи, рядом с Ла-Рошель. Представительства верфи расположены также в Йере и на Мартинике.

Консультация по яхтам Amel

Наши эксперты отвечают очень быстро

Нажимая «Отправить запрос», вы подтверждаете, что ознакомлены, полностью согласны и принимаете условия политики конфиденциальности,
а также даете согласие на обработку персональных данных.