BuilderSouthern Wind

SOUTH AFRICA, Cape Town

Reen Avenue – Athlone Industria 1, 7780

Model range of Southern Wind

The brand Southern Wind produces luxury Cruising Yachts and maxi Yachts. There are 4 models from 27 to 40 meters.

About Southern Wind

When you look at Southern Wind sailing yachts you can clearly see a sophisticated holiday on the Côte d'Azur, Liguria or Balearic Islands. These boats built in South Africa look too Mediterranean.

Story .

The Southern Wind Shipyard owes its origin to the Italian entrepreneur Willy Persico, who in the 1970s was involved in the oil trade and in 1990 headed a small shipyard in Messina. In the same year he planned to build himself a 72-foot yacht designed by Ron Holland. The shipyard was chosen by the small Cenmarinein shipyard in Cape Town. It turned out to be available for purchase, and so Willie Peachesico had created the Southern Wind.

The business concept was formulated as small-scale production of semi-custom yachts (from 20 to 35 m). The newest technologies of composite materials were used in construction, and since 2000 - carbon fiber and Kevlar.

The main bet was on design. The famous studios Farr Yacht Design, Reichel/Pugh and Nauta Design were involved in the design of small series that were well suited to individual configuration.

Ultra-fashionable yachts at similar prices quickly won over fans and the shipyard's success came with it. In 2008, the 100-foot Mrs Seven became the Italian Vela e Motore «Yacht «of» the Year and» received a special prize from ISS; in 2010, the yacht received a special prize. 110-foot Thalima is awarded a prize by the International Design Association; in 2015. The 102-foot Farfalla from Bruce Farr has been awarded the prestigious World Superyacht Awards.

A powerful blow to the shipyard was the sudden death of the founder Willie Persico in May 2018. Southern Wind now heads the board of directors and shareholders who were still working under the founder's father.

Production

Southern Wind Shipyard is located in a two-hectare suburb of Cape Town. Half of the area is covered. Starting with a team of two dozen workers, the shipyard has grown to almost 300 employees. But even such a team builds no more than 2-3 buildings per year. In just over 25 years of existence Southern Wind Shipyard has built over 40 yachts.

Range of models

Traditionally, Southern Wind has built comfortable, low displacement sport cruising yachts. Today, the shipyard offers potential customers both in-house developments in lengths ranging from 82 to 115 feet, as well as the opportunity to build a fully customised yacht. The construction management can be entrusted to Nauta Design's specialists or, again, through a trusted representative.

Features

A potential customer of the shipyard is not new to sailing, not alien to sports excitement, but would like to stand out in the crowded marinas of the Mediterranean without even going out to sea. State-of-the-art hull construction technology enables Southern Wind yachts to combine these aspirations to produce attractive, virtually custom yachts. At the same time, small-scale production allows to make such a boat not super expensive.

To Buy the Southern Wind Yacht
If you are interested in Southern Wind yacht, contact your broker or fill out the form below
Ошибка!
By clicking "Send Inquiry" you confirm that you have read and agree with our Privacy Policy and give consent to process personal data

Write to us if
you want to add to the description.

Found an error? Select the desired fragment
and press ctrl+enter,
or click here.

Please let us know about the error.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is not a public offer, and itBoat is not responsible for its completeness and accuracy. The data is collected from open sources, and there may be distortions, errors, typos, and inaccuracies.

ВерфьSouthern Wind

ЮАР, Кейптаун

Reen Avenue – Athlone Industria 1, 7780

Модельный ряд Southern Wind

Верфь Southern Wind строит люксовые крейсерские яхты и макси-яхты. В модельном ряду компании - 7 моделей длиной от 24 до 36 метров .

О верфи Southern Wind

При взгляде на парусные яхты Southern Wind отчетливо представляется изысканный отдых на Лазурном побережье, Лигурии или Балеарах. Уж слишком средиземноморскими выглядят эти лодки, построенные в ЮАР.

История

И впечатление это оправдано, ведь своим появлением Southern Wind Shipyard обязана итальянскому предпринимателю Вилли Персико (Willy Persico), который в 1970-х занимался торговлей нефтью, а в 1990 возглавил небольшую верфь в Мессине. В том же году он задумал построить себе 72-футовую яхту по проекту Рона Холланда. Выбор верфи пал на маленькую верфь Cenmarinein в Кейптауне. Оказалось, что ее можно приобрести, и так Вилли Персико создал Southern Wind.

Концепция бизнеса была сформулирована как мелкосерийное производство полукастомных яхт (от 20 до 35 м). В постройке использовались новейшие технологии композитных материалов, а с 2000 года — углеволокно и кевлар.

Основную ставку сделали на дизайн. К проектированию небольших серий, которые хорошо поддавались индивидуальной конфигурации, привлекались известные студии Farr Yacht Design, Reichel/Pugh и Nauta Design.

Ультра-модные яхты по сходной цене быстро завоевали поклонников, и верфи сопутствовал успех. В 2008 году 100-футовая Mrs Seven стала «Яхтой года» по версии итальянского «Vela e Motore» и получила специальный приз от ISS; в 2010 г. 110-футовая Thalima удостоена приза от International Design Association; в 2015 г. 102-футовая Farfalla от Брюса Фарра (Bruce Farr) отмечена престижной World Superyacht Awards.

Сильным ударом для верфи стала неожиданная кончина основателя Вилли Персико в мае 2018 года. Сейчас Southern Wind возглавляет совет директоров и акционеров, которые работали еще под началом отца-основателя.

Производство

Southern Wind Shipyard находится в пригороде Кейптауна на площади в два гектара. Половина площадей является крытой. Начав с коллектива в два десятка рабочих, верфь выросла до почти 300 сотрудников. Но даже такой коллектив строит не более 2–3 корпусов в год. Всего за более чем 25 летнее существование Southern Wind Shipyard построила более 40 яхт.

Модельный ряд

Традиционно, Southern Wind строит комфортные спорт-круизные яхты с малым водоизмещением. Сегодня верфь предлагает потенциальным заказчикам как собственные разработки в длине от 82 до 115 футов, так и возможность построить полностью индивидуальную яхту по проекту заказчика. Руководство постройкой можно возложить на специалистов Nauta Design, либо, опять же, осуществлять через доверенного представителя.

Особенности

Потенциальный заказчик верфи не новичок в парусе, не чужд спортивному азарту, но при этом хотел бы выделяться в переполненных маринах Средиземноморья даже не выходя в море. Современные технологии постройки корпуса позволяют яхтам от Southern Wind объединять эти стремления и получать на выходе привлекательные, практически индивидуальные яхты. При этом мелкосерийное производство позволяет сделать такую лодку не супердорогой.

Купить яхту Southern Wind
Если Вас интересуют яхты Southern Wind, обратитесь к Вашему яхтенному брокеру или отправьте запрос нашим специалистам через форму ниже:
Ошибка!
Отправляя запрос, Вы соглашаетесь на предоставление персональных данных в соответствии с политикой конфиденциальности.

Напишите нам, если
хотите дополнить описание.

Нашли ошибку? Выделите нужный фрагмент
и нажмите ctrl+enter,
либо нажмите здесь.

Сообщите нам об ошибке.

Оговорка: Информация на данной странице не является публичной офертой, itBoat не несет ответственность за её полноту и достоверность. Данные собраны из открытых источников, в них возможны искажения, ошибки, опечатки и неточности.