BuilderSoutherly

Great Britain, Southampton

Discovery Yachts Group Ltd

Harbour Close, Marchwood, SO40 4AF

Model range of Southerly

The brand Southerly produced sailing Yachts with Central or Protected Cockpit and sailing Yachts with Lifting Keel. There are no boats in a current model range but you can learn more about the production of the brand in “Discontinued models“ section.

About Southerly

Company history

In the early 1970s, the creator of Northshore's future shipyard, Brian Moffat, owned two shipyards, in Havant and Itchenor. The company produced custom boat hulls, including for Fairway Marine with Fisher ketches. The company later became known as Northshore Yachts. In 1975 the first Southerly 25 with a centreboard appeared, and in 1980 the Southerly 95 had a retractable keel and was fiberglass. The idea was further developed with the Southerly 100 and 101.

At the same time in the 80's Northshore built good quality fiberglass keel yachts Vancouver, Victoria, MG, Sigma and others. The Southerly brand and sliding keel ideology became dominant in Northshore's business after it was sold by 73-year-old Moffat to entrepreneur Lester Abbott in 2003.

The new owner has invested in the development of the Southerly range and got rid of other Northshore brands. On the outside, things were going well, and in 2010 Princess Anne attended the opening of the renovated Northshore shipyard. But already in 2012 the shipyard's suppliers felt payment delays, and in 2013 the first thunder came. The lenders had publicly announced the shipyard's millions in debt.

A futile attempt to revive Northshore was made in 2014. Indeed, Southerly was saved only in 2017 when the brand was acquired by Discovery Yachts. The new owners invested in the renewal and development of the line and moved production to Southampton.

Status .

It's working.

Production

The Northshore shipyard in Southerly's «small motherland» in Itchenor continues to function as a repair base. The yachts themselves are being built at the Discovery Yachts Group facility in Southampton, which employs approximately 150 people.

Model range

The Southerly range is built on the principle «of all the best already invented». That is, the new models are, in fact, the processing of the earlier ones. In this case, the change of ownership has not changed this philosophy. The only model recently launched from «scratch»is the flagship 590 from Dubois Naval Architects. In total, more than 900 buildings have been built since its inception.

Features .

She remains the only GRP yacht with a lifting keel. It's a simple and clear idea, but it's worth exploring a little bit how great prospects open up. For example, small models like the 330 and 380 can pass through the canals of Europe from England to the Mediterranean Sea much faster than by sea. Imagine how many more places you can explore without worrying about rainfall.

Purchase a boat Southerly
Authorized representative
Boutique.Yachts
Great Britain, London
+7 ••• ••• •• ••
Show phones
Представитель в России
+7 495 771-17-00
Украина (представитель)
+380 98 977 1111
Казахстан (представитель)
+7 777 222 0702
Азербайджан (представитель)
+994 50 250 55 22
Великобритания (головной офис)
+44 20 7442 5856
Request a call

Write to us if
you want to add to the description.

Found an error? Please select the word or sentence
and press ctrl+enter,
or click here.

Please report the error to us.

Disclaimer: The content of this website does not constitute a public offer, and itBoat shall not be held liable for incorrect or incomplete information contained herein. The information provided herein is collected from open sources and may contain distortions, errors, typos, and inaccuracies.

Southerly
Верфи

Southerly

Великобритания
Саутгемптон, Harbour Close, Marchwood, SO40 4AF
Discovery Yachts Group Ltd

История компании

В начале 1970-х создатель будущей верфи Northshore — Брайан Моффат (Brian Moffat) — владел двумя верфями — в Хаванте и Итченоре. Компания производила корпуса лодок под заказ, в том числе и для Fairway Marine с кетчами Fisher. Позже это предприятие стало известно как Northshore Yachts. В 1975 появилась первая Southerly 25 с швертом, а в 1980 Southerly 95 располагала выдвижным килем и была стеклопластиковой. Далее идея была развита в моделях Southerly 100 и 101.

Параллельно в 80-х гг. Northshore строила добротные стеклопластиковые килевые яхты Vancouver, Victoria, MG, Sigma и другие. Бренд Southerly и идеология выдвижного киля стали доминирующими в бизнесе Northshore после ее продажи 73-летним Моффатом предпринимателю Лестеру Эбботу (Lester Abbott) в 2003 году.

Новый владелец инвестировал в развитие линейки Southerly и избавился от других брендов Northshore. Внешне дела шли неплохо, в 2010 году на открытии обновленной верфи Northshore присутствовала принцесса Анна. Но уже в 2012 поставщики верфи почувствовали задержки в оплате, а в 2013 грянул первый гром. Кредиторы публично заявили о миллионных долгах верфи.

Тщетная попытка возродить Northshore была предпринята в 2014 году. Действительно спасти Southerly удалось только в 2017 году, когда бренд был приобретен Discovery Yachts. Новые владельцы инвестировали в обновление и развитие линейки и перенесли производство в Саутгемптон.

Статус

Работает.

Производство

Верфь Northshore на «малой родине» Southerly в Итченоре продолжает функционировать как ремонтная база. Сами яхты строятся на предприятии Discovery Yachts Group в Саутгемптоне, где трудится порядка 150 человек.

Модельный ряд

Модельный ряд Southerly построен по принципу «все лучшее уже придумано». То есть, новые модели являются, по сути, переработкой более ранних. При этом, смена собственника не изменила этой философии. Единственная модель, запущенная недавно с «нуля», это флагманская 590-я от Dubois Naval Architects. Всего за время существования Southerly построено более 900 корпусов.

Особенности

Southerly остается единственной стеклопластиковой яхтой с подъемным килем. Простая и понятная идея, но стоит немного изучить вопрос, как открываются большие перспективы. К примеру, небольшие модели, как 330 и 380, могут пройти по каналам Европы из Англии в Средиземное море намного быстрее, чем по морю. Представьте, сколько еще мест можно изучить, не беспокоясь об осадке.

Консультация по яхтам Southerly

Наши эксперты отвечают очень быстро

Нажимая «Отправить запрос», вы подтверждаете, что ознакомлены, полностью согласны и принимаете условия политики конфиденциальности,
а также даете согласие на обработку персональных данных.
  • Модельный ряд

Снятые с производства модели

Официальный представитель