BuilderIsland Packet Yachts

US

Island Packet Yachts

1979 WILD ACRES ROAD LARGO, 33771

Model range of Island Packet Yachts

The brand Island Packet Yachts produces sailing Cruisers with Mediterranean Cockpit and sailing Yachts with Central or Protected Cockpit. There are 7 models from 11 to 16 meters.

About Island Packet Yachts

Company history

The American brand Island Packet Yachts was launched in 1979. Its founder, Bob Johnson, graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a degree in Shipboard «Devices and worked at Irwin Yachts and Endeavour Yachts yards for» some time until he decided to build boats according to his own designs.

The brand was named after Bob's first development, the 26-foot Island Packet, a modified version of the Bombay Express: Bob bought a matrix of a yacht with a 10-foot mast and catboat proportions from the ruined Bombay Trading Company.

«In boat design, music, and anything else you can't know for sure how successful a particular design is,"»says Bob, and therefore is not afraid of experimenting.

He originally worked for his company as an engineer, purchasing and sales manager, architect, but now Island Packet Yachts employs 200 people. So far the brand has produced more than 2,200 yachts which can be found all over the world and proudly calls itself a leader in «building cruising yachts in the USA.

Production .

Island Packet Yachts is located in Pinellas County, Florida, on the Gulf Coast of Mexico. The company has a nine acre site with over 11,000 square feet of production.

Model range

The company's model range includes both central or protected cockpit yachts and motorcycle saloons. The length of the yachts is from 37 to 53 feet. All yachts are designed with an emphasis on durability and comfort. The Island Packet 380 won the Best «Value Award in 1999 and is» recognized as the best yacht with the best size/cost ratio, best service and maintenance cost and best residual value. The company is confident in its development and therefore offers a 10-year warranty on all models against deck stratification and degradation as well as an osmosis warranty for the same period.

Features

The original Island Packet design combines a U-shaped body with a classic long keel. This combination is what sets Island Packet apart from most people: when Bob Johnson started developing his designs, the U-hull boats were equipped with a short keel, while the long keel versions were shaped like a backpack. By combining the two concepts, he was able to improve yacht performance, increase interior space, reduce draught, strengthen the hull and protect the propeller and rudder pen. Another difference between these yachts is the long deckhouse.

In the 70's Bob Johnson chose technological fiberglass as the main material for his yachts, and it is still used today. The masts are made of carbon fibre.

Purchase a yacht Island Packet Yachts
If you are interested in Island Packet Yachts yachts, please contact your yacht broker or fill out the form below to send a request to our experts:
Mistake!
By clicking "Send Inquiry" you confirm that you have read and agree with our Privacy Policy and give consent to process personal data

Write to us if
you want to add to the description.

Found an error? Please select the word or sentence
and press ctrl+enter,
or click here.

Please report the error to us.

Disclaimer: The content of this website does not constitute a public offer, and itBoat shall not be held liable for incorrect or incomplete information contained herein. The information provided herein is collected from open sources and may contain distortions, errors, typos, and inaccuracies.

Island Packet Yachts
Верфи

Island Packet Yachts

США
1979 WILD ACRES ROAD LARGO, 33771
Island Packet Yachts

История компании

Американский бренд Island Packet Yachts появился в 1979 году. Его основатель, Боб Джонсон (Bob Johnson), закончил Массачусетский технологический институт по специальности «Корабельные устройства» и некоторое время трудился на верфях Irwin Yachts и Endeavour Yachts, пока не решил создавать лодки по собственным проектам.

Название бренду дала первая разработка Боба — 26-футовая яхта Island Packet, представлявшая собой модифицированную версию Bombay Express: Боб выкупил матрицу этой яхты с 10-футовой мачтой и пропорциями кэтбота у разорившейся Bombay Trading Company.

«В дизайне лодок, музыке, да в чем угодно нельзя знать наверняка, насколько удачной признает конкретную разработку большинство людей», — считает Боб, и потому не боится экспериментов. 

Поначалу он работал в своей компании инженером, менеджером по закупкам и продажам, архитектором, но теперь в Island Packet Yachts трудятся 200 человек. На данный момент бренд произвел более 2 200 яхт, которые можно встретить по всему миру, и с гордостью называет себя «лидером в строительстве крейсерских яхт в США».

Производство

Верфь Island Packet Yachts расположилась в округе Пинеллас, штат Флорида, на побережье Мексиканского залива. За компанией числится территория в девять акров, на которой производство занимает более 11 000 кв. м.

Модельный ряд

В модельный ряд компании входят как яхты с центральным или защищенным кокпитом, так и мотосейлеры. Длина яхт — от 37 до 53 футов. Все яхты разрабатываются с упором на долговечность и удобство. Модель Island Packet 380 в 1999 году удостоилась награды «Best Value» и признана яхтой с лучшим соотношением размера и стоимости, лучшей стоимостью обслуживания и содержания и лучшей остаточной стоимостью. Компания уверена в своих разработках и потому предлагает на все модели 10-летнюю гарантию от расслоения и деградации палубы, а также гарантию от осмоса на тот же срок.

Особенности

Оригинальная конструкция Island Packet совмещает в себе U-образный корпус с классическим длинным килем. Эта комбинация и отличает Island Packet от большинства: когда Боб Джонсон начинал разрабатывать свои конструкции, лодки с U-образным корпусом оснащались коротким килем, а версии с длинным килем имели рюмкообразную форму. Благодаря совмещению двух концепций он смог улучшить мореходные качества яхт, увеличить внутреннее пространство, уменьшить осадку, укрепить корпус и защитить винт и перо руля. Еще одним отличием этих яхт стала длинная рубка.

В 70-х годах Боб Джонсон выбрал в качестве основного материала для яхт технологичное стекловолокно, и оно используется по сей день. Мачты изготавливаются из углеродного волокна.

Консультация по яхтам Island Packet Yachts

Наши эксперты отвечают очень быстро

Нажимая «Отправить запрос», вы подтверждаете, что ознакомлены, полностью согласны и принимаете условия политики конфиденциальности,
а также даете согласие на обработку персональных данных.
  • Модельный ряд

Официальный представитель