EU cruise liners banned from entering Crimean ports

Share on social media

The European Union has published new restrictive measures concerning Sevastopol and Crimea. They were made public on Friday, December 19, on the pages of «Official Journal» of the EU.

According to new rules European cruise vessels are prohibited to call or moor at ports of Sevastopol, Kerch, Yalta, Feodosia, Yevpatoria, Chernomorsk, Kamysh-Burun.

This prohibition applies to all ships flying the flag of EU countries, ships owned and under operational control of EU shipowners, and ships for which EU shipowner has common responsibility. An exception is possible only in case of emergencies.

The restrictive measures will take effect as early as tomorrow, Saturday, 20 December 2014, and are part of an extensive package of sanctions imposed by the EU following the annexation of the peninsula of Crimea to the territory of the Russian Federation.

Share on social media